Where the Crawdads Sing

£5.00

Category:

Description

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world ― New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that’s as engrossing as it is moving ― Daily Mail

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens’s exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement ― The Times

Kya is a compelling character, Owen’s descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative’s tail is neat ― Sunday Times Culture

Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat – the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer’s old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description ― the Guardian

For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away ― The Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestseller ― The i newspaper

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. ― Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising – with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn’t put it down ― The Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising end ― UK Press Association and Independent I

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on…Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. ― People

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising – with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn’t put it down ― The Lady

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver ― Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist ― Refinery29

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl…Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives ― Vanity Fair

Heart-wrenching…A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. ― Entertainment Weekly

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

― Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

This is a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubs ― Candis

A story that’s evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroine ― Image magazine
Book Description
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
About the Author
Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari.

She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.

She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel. Publisher

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Where the Crawdads Sing”

Your email address will not be published.